Santos Futebol Clube was created by an initiative of three local athletes, Francisco Raymundo Marques, Mário Ferraz de Campos, and Argemiro de Souza Júnior. They invited all who were interested to attend the inaugural meeting of the new club, which was set up to be dedicated to the practice of soccer, that at the beginning of the last century was in its infancy in Brazil.

The historic meeting took place on Sunday afternoon, April 14, 1912, at the headquarters of the Concordia Club, on the old Rua do Rosário, 18 (today Rua João Pessoa, 8/10). All 39 participants in that meeting are considered founding partners.

On the day of its foundation, the name of the organization was suggested by Edmundo Jorge de Araújo: Santos Foot-Ball Club, and the uniform colors of it, which would be chaired in the first year by Sizino Patusca, were blue and white, with golden threads in between.

On March 31 of the following year, the Club’s colors, at the suggestion of Paulo Peluccio, changed to white shorts and a white-and-black striped shirt. The Club’s Deliberative Council began on January 28, 1932, and the first president was Flamínio Levy.

At the beginning of his glorious journey, Urbano Vilella Caldeira Filho joins the club, a man who dedicated his whole life to the team he loved so much until his death in 1933. Urbano Caldeira was an athlete, coach, and manager, and today he is one of the patrons of Santos Futebol Clube. The stadium that was built in 1916 is named after him in recognition of his love for Alvinegro Praiano.

The first important achievements in the team’s history began in 1913 with the championship of the State of São Paulo, winning it once again in 1915, playing as the nickname “União Futebol Clube” imposed by the directors of the Associação Paulista de Esportes Atléticos (São Paulo’s Athletic Sports Association).

In 1927, the team introduced an attack that has never been beaten in São Paulo championship games to date, scoring an average of 6.25 goals per match and becoming known as the ‘100-goal attack’ team. This attack was formed by Omar, Camarão, Feitiço, Araken and Evangelista.

The first Campeonato Paulista won by the Club is in 1935, a title won at the opponent’s home in the capital of São Paulo. The team won the São Paulo State Championships again in 1955 and 1956, and then again in 1958 when they already had in their ranks a young player known as Pelé, who in the following years would become the best soccer player of all times.

In the so-called “Golden Decade” in the 1960s, the team conquered the world displaying a football worthy of applause, with constant achievements, not only in Brazilian football but also on the planet. The greatest crowning of this iconic team in the city of Santos took place in 1962 when the most famous Alvinegro in the world won all the most important competitions held that year and the following year they became a two-time World Champion. FIFA awarded the club the title of ‘The best team of the century in the Americas.’

Nowadays, Santos Football Club is considered the legitimate Brazilian Octochampion for its national achievements from the years 1961 to 1965, 1968, 2002, and 2004. In the São Paulo championships there were 22 conquests, in the Libertadores da América Cup there were 03 conquests and in the Interclubes World Cups, there were two conquests. Revealing players like Araken Patusca, Antoninho, Pelé, Robinho, Paulo Henrique Ganso, and Neymar, the team continues to be the pride of all Alvinegra people in its 111 years of history.

Skip to content