Santos Futebol Clube was founded by the initiative of three local sportsmen, Francisco Raymundo Marques, Mário Ferraz de Campos, and Argemiro de Souza Junior. They invited all those who were interested in taking part in the inaugural meeting of the new club, which was created to promote the practice of soccer, a sport that was introduced in Brazil at the beginning of the previous century.

The historic meeting took place at the headquarters of Concordia Club, at the former address, 18 Rosário Street (currently 8/10 João Pessoa Street), on April 14, 1912. The 39 attendees are considered to be the founding members of the club.

On the day of the foundation, the name of the entity was suggested by Edmundo Jorge de Araújo: Santos Foot-ball Club. The colors of the uniforms of the new football team, which would be chaired by Sizino Patusca during its first year of existence, were blue and white, with golden strips between them.

On March 31 of the following year, the colors of the club were changed as suggested by Paulo Peluccio. The players started wearing white and black striped jerseys and white shorts. The Council of the club was established on January 28, 1932, and Flamínio Levy was its first president.

Urbano Vilella Caldeira Filho joined the club at the beginning of its glorious journey. He dedicated his entire life to the team until his death, in 1933. Urbano Caldeira contributed as an athlete, coach, and director. Nowadays, he is considered to be one of the club’s patron. The stadium used by the team, which was built in 1916, bears his name in recognition of his dedication to Santos FC.

The first major titles in the team’s history were won in 1913, when the club managed to win its first local competition, named “Campeonato Santista”, winning the tournament once again in 1915, playing under the nickname “União Futebol Clube” due to an imposition made by the board of directors of the São Paulo Association of Athletic Sports.

In 1927, during the São Paulo State Championship, an incomparable forward line was put together. Scoring an average of 6.25 goals per match, Omar, Camarão, Feitiço, Araken, and Evangelista formed what was known to be the “100-goal forward line.”

The club won the São Paulo State Championship title for the first time in 1935, playing away, in São Paulo city. The team repeated the feat in 1955, 1956, and 1958. However, at that time, Santos FC already had, among its players, a young boy nicknamed Pelé, who, in the following years, turned out to be appointed as the best soccer player of all time.

In the so-called “Golden Decade”, in the 1960’s, the team conquered the world showing a performance level worthy of applause, with constant achievements, not only nationwide, but internationally as well. In 1962, Santos FC managed to win the Continental Treble, winning, in the following year, the Intercontinental Cup for the second time. The club was awarded the title of “The Best Team of the Century in the Americas” by FIFA.

The club has won the most important Brazilian competition, known as “Campeonato Brasileiro,” eight times (1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 2002, and 2004). The team has also won the São Paulo State Championship (Campeonato Paulista) twenty-two times and the Libertadores Cup (Copa Libertadores da América) three times. Producing players like Araken Patusca, Antoninho, Pelé, Robinho, Paulo Henrique Ganso, and Neymar, the team has been the pride of its fans throughout its 104 years of history.